Record number of entries for Radio Awards with Roy and HG as hosts

27 May 2010

Download as PDF

Over 1000 entries have been received for this year’s Australian Commercial Radio Awards (ACRAs), the highest number on record, chief executive officer of Commercial Radio Australia, Joan Warner said today.

“This is great news for the Awards and augurs well for a great night later in the year,” Ms Warner said. “The Awards are highly competitive and set a new standard every year. The diversity of winners over the past few years highlights the depth of radio in Australia – and this year will be no exception with a myriad of talent on commercial radio throughout the country.”

The 2010 ACRAs, the 22nd annual event, will be held at the Crown in Melbourne on October 16. The theme of the night is Spring Carnival Racing, with the Awards promising to be a highlight of the radio industry’s yearly calendar, attracting radio personalities and stars from around Australia.

Australian comedy duo, Roy and HG, aka John Doyle and Grieg Pickhaver, will host the event. The well-known duo, winners of two Logies and Australian Comedy Awards, are hosts of the drive-time program, The Life, on the Triple M Network on Mondays and Fridays. They have extensive radio and television experience over many years, including their well-known live broadcasts of the annual NRL and AFL grand finals as well as the Melbourne Cup.

HG said: “Australian radio is the best in the world and it is going through a golden age.  Roy and myself are delighted to be part of radio’s night of nights.  It is an evening of unrivalled celebration right up there with the Logies and the Housing Industry Association Awards.”

Organised by Commercial Radio Australia, on behalf of the radio industry, the ACRAs include 33 categories, which cover all areas of radio broadcasting including news, talk, sport, music and entertainment. The Awards differ from television’s Logie Awards, in that they are peer judged with judging panels comprised of industry members. Winners are announced in each category across three areas: metropolitan, provincial and country commercial radio stations.

Winners from last year’s Awards include Fox FM’s comic duo, Hamish and Andy, 3AW’s Derryn Hinch, 2GB’s Ray Hadley and Dylan Lewis from Nova 100 in Melbourne.

This year there is a new category, Best New Digital Radio Format, which recognises the growth and development of digital radio in Australia. The Best New Digital Radio Format category is for any new formats on DAB+ only stations which show excellent use of the new features, like scrolling text and graphics.

Ms Warner said a feature of the Awards is the Hall of Fame, which acknowledges a lifelong commitment to the Australian radio industry. Inductees have included Neil Mitchell, Frank Hyde, Rod Muir, John Laws, Bob Rogers and Paul Thompson. Hall of Fame recipients are nominated by industry colleagues and decided by a high level judging committee.

Media contact - Melissa Fleming - 0417 499 529 or visit
Pics of Roy and HG are available upon request