Coles Radio wins Best Digital Radio format at the ACRAs

22 October 2018

Download as PDF

Coles Radio has won Best Digital Radio Format at the 30th Australian Commercial Radio Awards (ACRAs), held in Melbourne.
The successful station, which is heard on DAB+, online and in more than 800 Coles stores across the country, is programmed daily and plays a fun mix of old and new songs and special music features.
The Kyle and Jackie O Show, KIIS 1065’s breakfast program, won the Best On-Air Team (Metro FM) category.  Kyle Sandilands and Jackie Henderson, who have previously won this hotly contested award in 2006, 2007, 2011, 2013 and 2015, have won for the second time since joining the Australian Radio Network’s KIIS in 2014. 
For the second consecutive year, Best On-Air Team (Metro AM), was won by the Continuous Call Team (Ray Hadley, Bob Fulton, Darryl Brohman, Erin Molan, Mark Riddell, Chris Warren & Mark Levy, 2GB, Sydney, Macquarie Media Limited.
Kate Ritchie, part of the national Nova drive team since 2014 with Tim Blackwell and Marty Sheargold, won Best Entertainment Presenter.  The successful national drive show, Kate, Tim and Marty took out both Best Networked Program and Best Syndicated Program.
Ben Fordham, 2GB’s drive time host, won the Best Talk Presenter for the fourth time and was also awarded the prestigious Brian White Award for Radio Journalism.  Best Current Affairs presenter was won by 3AW morning presenter Neil Mitchell bringing his ACRA award winning total to 21. 
Grant Denyer, a member of the 2DayFM Breakfast with Grant and Ed show (SCA) started on radio in Sydney this year and won Best Newcomer On Air. Best Music Presenter was won by smoothfm presenter Melissa Doyle.  
New podcast categories were introduced this year to celebrate the best commercially produced podcasts in Australia by commercial radio networks and their partners and in recognition of commercial radio’s leading role in driving investment and growth across the sector. The awards Winner of the Best Radio Show Podcast was Chrissie, Sam & Browny; Chrissie Swan, Sam Pang & Jonathan Brown (Nova Entertainment).  Best Original Podcast was won by Mum Says My Memoir is a Lie; Rosie Waterland (PodcastOne SCA) and Best Original Podcast Branded was won by Modern Babies from Genea and the Nova Entertainment Podcast Team. 
Entries for the ACRAs were received from 260 metropolitan and regional radio stations across Australia. Organised by Commercial Radio Australia, the national Awards cover 37 categories and encompass all areas of commercial radio broadcasting including news, talk, sport, music and entertainment.
For more information about the awards and a full list of winners, click here.